Land Conservation Committee

 

 

 

Follow me on LinkedIn follow me on facebook tweet me
get in touch

Land Conservation Committee

 

Committee Description

The FLERA Land Conservation Committee (LCC) was borne from a need to local government land conservation programs to be better able to communicate not only amongst themselves, but to project a unified voice among policy-makers. Land conservation remains a strong value for Floridians as evidenced by the recent passage of Constitutional Amendment 1 and the approval of numerous state and local land conservation referenda dating back to the 1980s. FLERA needed to be better informed on land conservation issues and needed a dedicated committee of experts. In 2013, these two needs intersected and were addressed by the LCC. The LCC consists of a core group of local subject matter experts and practitioners, supported by the complete roster of local land conservation programs around the state. As of October 2014, that included 26 counties and municipalities. The LCC meets via conference call quarterly to discuss matters of legislative importance, funding or land conservation practice. It also meets as a formal Committee at the annual FLERA general meeting.

 

Key Topics of Emphasis or Discussion

For the past year, local government land conservation practitioners (including members of FLERA’s Land Conservation Committee) held quarterly conference calls to discuss mutual issues of interest. Amendment 1 dominated the conversations. The overwhelming majority of Floridians (75%) voted for Amendment 1, with heaviest support in Florida’s most populated counties. Key now is the coming Legislative season and the implementation of Amendment 1. The Land Conservation Committee recommends FLERA focus on this as its Land Conservation Legislative Priority in the coming year.

 

Top 3 FLERA 2015 Objectives (short or long term)

1) The Land Conservation Committee recommends FLERA actively monitor the Legislative Session and engage with key Committee members on the crafting of policy and legislation implementing Amendment 1. Specifically, the funds should be used to further the State’s and local government’s land conservation projects along the lines of previous Florida Forever and Preservation 2000 Programs. Specifically, Amendment 1 proceeds should only be used for the acquisition of new conservation and recreation lands; and the stewardship, restoration, enhancement, and recreational access development of those and existing conservation lands.

2) The Land Conservation Committee recommends FLERA engage with NGOs to advocate that the Legislature implement Amendment 1 as was intended by the voters and in accordance with #1 above.

Top 3 FLERA 2015 Legislative Agenda Items

1) Amendment 1 Implementation.

2) Legislation Regarding Local Conservation Of Environmentally Sensitive Or Recreational Lands.

 

Committee Member Contact Information:

LCC core members are indicated by an asterisk. The Committee Chair for 2015-2016 is TBD.

Alachua County
  • TBD*
    organization
    department
    street
    FL
    email
    Tel:
    Fax:
  • Sandra Vardaman
    Lands Biologist
    Environmental Protection Dept.
    201 S.E. 2nd Ave., Suite 201
    Gainesville, FL 32601
    smvardaman@alachuacounty.us
    Tel: 352-264-6804
    Fax: 352-264-6852
Brevard County
  • Michael Knight
    Program Manager, EEL Program
    Parks and Recreation Department
    91 East Drive
    Melbourne, FL 32904
    mike.knight@brevardparks.com
    Tel: 321-255-4466
    Fax: 321-255-4499
Broward County
  • Carol Morgenstern
    Planning and Development Manager
    Parks and Recreation Division
    950 N.W. 38th Street
    Oakland Park, FL 33309
    cmorgenstern@broward.org
    Tel: 954-357-8124
    Fax: 954-537-2865
  • Linda Briggs
    Natural Resource Specialist III
    Parks and Recreation Division
    950 N.W. 38th Street
    Oakland Park, FL 33309
    lbriggs@broward.org
    Tel: 954-357-8120
    Fax: 954-537-2865
  • Michael Middlebrook
    Natural Resource Specialist II
    Parks and Recreation Division
    950 N.W. 38th Street
    Oakland Park, FL 33309
    mmiddlebrook@broward.org
    Tel: 954-357-8154
    Fax: 954-537-2865
Charlotte County
  • Andy Stevens
    Manager, Parks and Natural Resources
    Community Services
    2050 Forrest Nelson Blvd
    Port Charlotte, Fl 33952
    andy.stevens@charlottefl.com
    Tel: 941-613-3226
    Fax: 941-235-5020
City of Gainesville
  • Linda Demetropoulos
    Nature Operations and Cultural Affairs Divisions Manager
    City of Gainesville Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs
    P.O. Box 490, MS 30
    Gainesville, FL 32627
    Demetropls@CityofGainesville.org
    Tel: 352-393-8425
Collier County
  • Alexandra Sulecki*
    Coordinator, Conservation Collier Land Acquisition Program
    Environmental Services Department
    3335 Tamiami Trail E, Suite 101
    Naples, FL 34112
    AlexandraSulecki@Colliergov.net
    Tel: 239-252-2961
    Fax: 239-252-6713
Duval County/City of Jacksonville
  • Joe Namey
    Land Acquisitions/Dispositions
    Real Estate Division
    214 North Hogan St., 10th Floor
    Jacksonville, FL 32202
    Namey@coj.net
    Tel: (904) 255-8700
    Fax: (904) 255-8792
Flagler County
  • Mike Lagasse
    Land Manager
    Flagler County Administration, Building 2
    1769 E. Moody, Bldg. 2
    Bunnell, Fl 32110
    mlagasse@flaglercounty.org
    Tel: 386-313-4064
    Fax: 386-313-4109
  • Tim Telfer
    Environmental Planner, III
    Flagler County Administration, Building 2
    1769 E. Moody, Bldg. 2
    Bunnell, Fl 32110
    ttelfer@flaglercounty.org
    Tel: 386-313-4066
    Fax: 386-313-4109
Hernando County
  • Dawn Velsor
    Lead Emnvironmental Planner
    Hernando County Planning Dept.
    20 N Main St., Rm 262
    Brooksville FL 34601
    Dawnv@co.hernando.fl.us
    Tel: 352-540-6529
  • Jim King
    Conservation Lands Specialist
    Hernando County Planning Dept.
    20 N Main St., Rm 262
    Brooksville FL 34601
    Jking@co.hernando.fl.us
    Tel: 352-754-4057
Hillsborough County
  • John (Forest) Turbiville
    Section Manager
    Parks, Recreation and Conservation Dept.
    15502 Morris Bridge Road
    Thonotosassa, FL 33592
    turbivillej@hillsboroughcounty.org
    Tel: 813-987-6230
  • Kurt Gremley*
    Acquisition Manager
    Real Estate Department
    601 East Kenedy Blvd., 23rd Floor – P.O. Box 1110
    Tampa, FL 33601
    gremleyk@hillsboroughcounty.org
    Tel: 813-272-5810
    Fax: 813-272-5597
Indian River County
  • Roland DeBlois
    Chief, Environmental Planning and Code Enforcement Section
    Indian River County Planning Division
    1801 27th Street
    Vero Beach, FL 32960
    rdeblois@ircgov.com
    Tel: 772-226-1258
    Fax: 772-978-1806
  • Beth Powell
    Conservation Lands Manager
    Indian River County Planning Division
    1801 27th Street
    Vero Beach, FL 32960
    bpowell@ircgov.com
    Tel: 772-226-1873
    Fax: 772-589-6119
Lee County
  • Lynda Thompson
    20/20 Program Coordinator
    Dept. of Community Development
    1500 Monroe Street, P.O. Box 398
    Fort Myers, FL 33902
    lthompson@leegov.com
    Tel: 239-533-8833
  • Cathy Olson
    Conservation Lands Manager
    Lee County Parks and Recreation
    3410 Palm Beach Blvd.
    Fort Myers, FL 33916
    colson@leegov.com
    Tel: (239) 533-7455
Leon County
  • Leigh Davis
    Director of Parks and Recreation
    Department of Public Works and Community Development
    2280 Miccosukee Rd.
    Tallahassee, FL 32308
    Davisle@leoncountyfl.gov
    Tel: 850-606-1542
Marion County
  • Gina Peebles, Director
    Parks and Recreation Department
    111 SE 25 Avenue
    Ocala, FL 34471
    gina.peebles@marioncountyfl.org
    Tel: 352-671-8560
    Fax: 352-671-8550
Martin County
  • Baret Barry
    Env. Resource Specialist
    Ecosys. Restor. & Mgmt. Division, Martin County
    2401 S.E. Monterey Road
    Stuart, FL 34996
    bbarry@martin.fl.us
    Tel: 772-219-4930
    Fax: 772-288-5955
  • Deborah Drum
    Manager, Ecosystem Restoration & Mgmt Division
    Engineering Department, Martin County
    2401 S.E. Monterey Road
    Stuart, FL 34996
    ddrum@martin.fl.us
    Tel: 772-463-3263
    Fax: 772-288-5955
  • Michael Yustin
    Env. Resource Specialist
    Ecosys. Restor. & Mgmt. Division, Martin County
    2401 S.E. Monterey Road
    Stuart, FL 34996
    myustin@martin.fl.us
    Tel: 772-220-7114
    Fax: 772-288-5955
 Miami-Dade County
  • Cynthia Guerra*
    Program Director
    Environmentally Endangered Lands Program
    701 NW 1 Ct, 6th Floor
    Miami, FL 33136
    guerrcy@miamidade.gov
    Tel: 305-372-6781
    Fax: 305-372-6759
  • Joe Maguire
    Chief, Natural Areas Mgmt
    Parks and Recreation Dept.
    22200 SW 137 Avenue
    Miami, FL 33170
    J57@miamidade.gov
    Tel: 305-257-0933
    Fax: 305-257-1086
Monroe County
  • Mark J. Rosch
    Executive Director
    Monroe County Land Authority
    1200 Truman Ave., Suite 207
    Key West, FL 33040
    Rosch-Mark@MonroeCounty-FL.gov
    Tel: 305-295-5180
    Fax: 305-295-5181
Orange County
  • Beth Jackson*
    Environmental Program Supervisor, Green PLACE Program
    Orange County Environmental Protection Division
    800 Mercy Drive, Suite 4
    Orlando, FL 32808
    beth.jackson@ocfl.net
    Tel: 407-836-1481
    Fax: 407-836-1499
Palm Beach County
  • David Gillings*
    Environmental Manager
    Environmental Resources Management
    2300 N. Jog Road 4th Floor
    West Palm Beach, FL 33411-2743
    dgillings@pbcgov.org
    Tel: 561-233-2477
    Fax: 561-233-2414
  • Sandy Mann
    Environmental Program Supevisor
    Environmental Resources Management
    2300 N. Jog Road 4th Floor
    West Palm Beach, FL 33411-2743
    smann@pbcgov.org
    Tel: 561-233-2489
    Fax: 561-233-2414
Pasco County
  • Keith Wiley
    Environmental Lands Program Manager
    Environmental Lands Aquisition and Management Program (ELAMP)
    4444 Grand Blvd
    New Port Richey, FL 34652
    kwiley@PascocountyFL.net
    Tel: 727-834-3670
Pinellas County
  • Steven J. Harper, Ph.D
    Environmental Division Manager
    Pinellas County Parks & Conservation Resources
    12520 Ulmerton Rd.,
    Largo, FL 33774
    sjharper@co.pinellas.fl.us
    Tel: (727) 453-6933
    Fax: (727) 582-2550
Polk County
  • Gaye Sharpe*
    Natural Areas Manager
    Parks and Natural Resources Division
    4177 Ben Durance Road
    Bartow, FL 33830
    gayesharpe@polk-county.net
    Tel: 863-534-7377 x 203
    Fax: 863-534-7374
Sarasota County
  • Brooke Elias
    Land Protection Coordinator
    Natural Resources
    1660 Ringling Blvd
    Sarasota, FL 34236
    belias@scgov.net
    Tel: 941-539-4083
  • Mike Barker
    Environmental Supervisor
    Natural Resources
    1660 Ringling Blvd
    Sarasota, FL 34236
    mbarker@scgov.net
    Tel: 941-539-4083
  • Debbie Blanco
    Environmental Specialist
    Parks, Recreation, & Natural Resources
    1255 Mabry Carlton Parkway
    Venice, FL 34292
    dblanco@scgov.net
    Tel: (941)-915-5049
Seminole County
  • Jim Duby
    Principal Coordinator
    Natural Lands Program
    Ed Yarborough Nature Center, 3485 N County Road 426
    Geneva, Florida 32732
    jduby@seminolecountyfl.gov
    Tel: (407) 349-0769
St. Lucie County
  • Dale Armstrong
    Natural Resources Manager
    Environmental Resources Dept.
    2300 Virginia Avenue
    Ft. Pierce, FL 34982
    armstrongd@stlucieco.org
    Tel: 772-462-2897
    Fax: 772-462-168
  • Steve Fousek
    Environmental Lands Coordinator
    Environmental Resources Dept.
    2300 Virginia Avenue
    Ft. Pierce, FL 34982
    fouseks@stlucieco.org
    Tel: 772-462-2525
    Fax: 772-462-1684
Town of Jupiter
  • Vergy Sheridan
    Natural Resources Supervisor
    Community Development
    210 Military Trail
    Jupiter, FL 33458
    vergys@Jupiter.fl.us
    Tel: 561-741-2446
    Fax: 561-741-2562
Volusia County
  • Bill Gardner
    Manager, Land Acquisition
    Growth and Resources Management
    123 W. Indiana Ave.
    DeLand, FL 32720
    bgardner@volusia.org
    Tel: 386-740-5261
    Fax: 386-740-5277
  • Randall Sleister
    Manager, Land Management
    Growth and Resources Management
    123 W. Indiana Ave.
    DeLand, FL 32720
    rsleister@volusia.org
    Tel: 386-740-5261
    Fax: 386-740-5277
Pine Jog Environmental Education Center/ FAU
  • Kristi Moyer
    Facilities and Land Manager
    Florida Atlantic University Pine Jog Environmental Education Center
    6301 Summit Blvd.
    West Palm Beach, FL. 33415
    KMARTI40@fau.edu
    Tel: 561-681- 3420
    Fax: 561-687-4968
back to top